madakanto

Everything you want to know about Madagascar and never dared to ask

A New Hat…Again July 16, 2012

I just came back from two weeks´ vacation in Provence  and Paris. For once, it is nice to play the tourist in my homeland although I feel, with years going by, less and less French.

Coming back to the Riviera was really cool, considering that I had not been there since I was ten years old. Cannes, Nice and all the cities by the Mediterranean Sea did become a showcase for France. Everything is so neat, so clean, so luxurious. Wherever you go it smells money. My husband told me how different it looks now from the 1960´s. Cannes was just a fishermen´s haven then. It lost a lot of its former charm.

  Nice

There is one thing I did not remember from my younger years. The incredibly hot weather. And humidity. I hated it. As soon as we came out of Nice airport, I could feel the air and started sweating without moving one finger. I got so much accustomed to the Swedish summer, – sunny but dry and always with a little breeze tickling your cheeks –, that the Mediterranean climate was insufferable. I could hardly fall asleep.

Having said that I will not bother you with my temperature issues. I just wanted to show you the proof that Malagasy products are being more and more successful.

Here is the hat I had to buy in Saint-Paul-de-Vence, because the sun was too damn hot. I felt so stupid buying a hat again. I´ve got thousands of them at home. But hey, I had to cover my head.

 

The second picture was taken in Nice. Arent´they nice? It is amazing how Malagasy craftsmen have improved in making those bags. They look much nicer and last longer that the ones I used to buy. And most of all, everybody loves them!

Of course they are three or four times more expensive than in Madagascar, but at least you won´t need to go there.

And I consoled myself with the thought that I supported the Malagasy ecconomy!

 

3 Responses to “A New Hat…Again”

  1. Martine Says:

    Sympa ces paniers colorés !!!!!!!

  2. sylvie Says:

    j’aime beaucoup ces sacs !


Leave a Reply

